logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
laura*  
#1 Posted : Friday, October 9, 2009 9:16:53 AM(UTC)
laura*

I'm designing an art project for Burning Man. It's a vehicle of sorts. Because of its geometric constraints, a 3D CAD program will be useful: Rotating assemblies will need to clear each other by design, and a crowded engine bay will need to be as small as possible. Instead of tweaking a mockup, I'd rather try things out on a computer first. My background is software engineering, but I'm not unfamiliar with mechanical drawings. I very much insist on a Mac program which has thus led me to the Punch products.

At some point I'll need to convert the 3D model into fully dimensioned 2D drawings so that I can fabricate all the parts. Therefore, I think that the minimum PunchCAD product meeting my needs would be Shark LT.

I won't be able to fabricate complex 3D surfaces (ie "tangent cover with guide") and thus might not need the modeling features of full Shark (ie non-LT). On the other hand, perhaps those features may help model repurposed existing components?

I won't need to make pretty renderings to show to others. Alternately, might the Shark FX renderer be useful as an engineering tool to answer questions like "will this beam block too much of the operator's view?" Is the renderer good enough to show glare on a windshield from reflected lights? Is it good enough to show what the vehicle's operator will see at night?