logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
RustyL  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2016 5:02:53 AM(UTC)
RustyL

Hi.

I am a new user of ViaCAD 2D3D 9. I should also point out that this is my first attempt at drawing in 3D, and exporting a file for use in a 3D printing process.

I recently created a new 3D drawing of a part I want to print on a 3D printer, operated by another team. The requirement is to export an STL file to be used by the team.

I have set-up the units in both the original 2D drawing, and the final 3D drawing as centimeters. Using the dimension tool in the 3D drawing, I am able to confirm the part is approx 2.2 units (cm) long. I exported the STL file using the default settings and the file was created successfully (no errors were reported).

When the printing team produced the part in the 3D printer, it was around 2.5 times the size I was expecting.

When I open the STL file in ViaCAD itself (which opens as 'Untitled.vc3'), and use the dimension tool, I confirmed that the STL file has specified the part as approx 5.6 units (cm) long.

The export process seems to have multiplied all the original dimensions by approx 2.5. Not sure if it is a coincidence that this is roughly the number of centimeters to the inch.

What have I missed here? Is there another config step I should have performed to ensure the export knows that the dimensions are already in centimeters and not inches?

I would really appreciate any assistance.

Regards, Rusty.
rokoko  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2016 8:56:38 AM(UTC)
rokoko

Was thanked: 57 time(s) in 45 post(s)
hi,