logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Lounginghound  
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 2:21:59 AM(UTC)
Lounginghound

Rank: Guest

Joined: 8/13/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
I have seen this problems when trying to form holes several different ways.
1) Use the cutout tool to cutout a circle through a solid
2) Using the hole tool to create a hole.

In both cases the hole is formed but with only half the round. i.e. a segment of the circle only forms a hole.
Cannot see any reason for this. Also sometimes happened in previous versions as well. I haven't seen anyone else report these problems so I'm not sure what is causing this.

A picture is attached for reference.
Lounginghound attached the following image(s):
ViaCAD_holeProblem.PNG (40kb) downloaded 2 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
L. Banasky  
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 5:14:00 AM(UTC)
L. Banasky

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/16/2007(UTC)
Posts: 552

Thanks: 80 times
Was thanked: 86 time(s) in 69 post(s)
If it's possible, post your file. Mac or PC.
Larry

Edited by user Thursday, August 13, 2020 6:31:02 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Lounginghound  
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2020 11:58:21 PM(UTC)
Lounginghound

Rank: Guest

Joined: 8/13/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
Hi Larry.

ViaCAD pro Version 11, Windows 10 PC.

The file is now attached.

Regards
Ken
File Attachment(s):
RaygenConveyors.vcp (849kb) downloaded 6 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
UGMENTALCASE  
#4 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2020 2:53:07 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Guest

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 745
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 105 time(s) in 81 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Lounginghound Go to Quoted Post
Hi Larry.

ViaCAD pro Version 11, Windows 10 PC.

The file is now attached.

Regards
Ken


Hi, not sure to be honest. When you put holes in try and hold the ctrl key down. This gives you a point at the centre of the hole. You can then move that to make editing a little easier.
I always have issues with it when it asks "project from referenced snap along hole/boss axis?" Sometimes it goes mad.

File Attachment(s):
RaygenConveyors.sfx (542kb) downloaded 3 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
ViaCAD Pro 10 & 11 + Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD + Power Pack Pro
Windows 7 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
L. Banasky  
#5 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2020 6:04:18 AM(UTC)
L. Banasky

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/16/2007(UTC)
Posts: 552

Thanks: 80 times
Was thanked: 86 time(s) in 69 post(s)
I think the problem is that you have to select each object.
The hole only went through on one object.
Larry
File Attachment(s):
RaygenConveyors (2).sfx (841kb) downloaded 0 time(s).
L. Banasky attached the following image(s):
2 objects.jpg (27kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 1 user thanked L. Banasky for this useful post.
Lounginghound on 8/16/2020(UTC)
Lounginghound  
#6 Posted : Sunday, August 16, 2020 2:38:43 AM(UTC)
Lounginghound

Rank: Guest

Joined: 8/13/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
Hi Larry,

Thank you for your quick reply.
I may be missing something, but I only want the hole in the one object.
Using the hole tool, I enter the hole specification including the axis of the hole (X Axis),
I then select the object and face, finally selecting the hole location.
From what I can gather from your picture you have run the hole through the support rail
which I only have in the drawing at the moment while I verify clearances and mounting positions.
you have me wondering if it is getting confused trying to project the hole into an object which is behind another object.
I will try a few other methods including moving everything out of the way.

regards
Ken
Lounginghound  
#7 Posted : Sunday, August 16, 2020 3:02:07 AM(UTC)
Lounginghound

Rank: Guest

Joined: 8/13/2020(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
OK after many trial and much investigation. I discovered the problem is the face I wanted the hole on was not perfectly perpendicular to the axis of the hole (this was an error).
As a result it was leaving a "skin" of material on half of the hole. Fixing the original mistake and squaring up the surface then allowed the hole to be formed correctly.

Thanks Larry for looking into this an spending the time to assist. I gave me some idea on what to look far and test.

Regards
Ken
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.