logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Dickon Whitehead  
#1 Posted : Friday, June 07, 2019 11:15:36 AM(UTC)
Dickon Whitehead

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/7/2019(UTC)
Posts: 4

I work in both millimetres and inches depending on what I am drawing and the materials I am designing for.

Always been frustrated by VC's system wide preferences in this regard, would prefer drawing by drawing preferences, or at least different preference environment templates.

On a Mac the somewhat awkward solution is to use separate user accounts for metric or inch (same approach could probably be used for any other 'preference' based changes.

Save into your 'Shared' folder from secondary account for easier access.

I know this is a bit awkward but is preferable to sorting problems caused by opening a metric file into the 'imperial' space with ensuing grid and conversion rounding issues when converting back.

I use VC 2D your mileage may vary with different versions.
rockyroad_us  
#2 Posted : Friday, June 07, 2019 11:32:26 AM(UTC)
rockyroad_us

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 9/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 544
Man
United States
Location: In my place

Was thanked: 24 time(s) in 23 post(s)
No sure what you issue is other than having user accounts for both units. I work in both system. I prefer English and my preference is set to English. Even when having the preference for English you can enter values in metric by inputting in the box 30mm or 1cm depending on your dimension needed. Of course they get converted to English and so to indicate the value I used dimensioning in metric that way I know despite being in English preference.

FX 9-1224 Pro10-1371
OSX.11.6
2x2.8GHz Quad Xeon
32GB
Radeon HD6870 2GB
Work
Dickon Whitehead  
#3 Posted : Saturday, June 08, 2019 6:45:11 AM(UTC)
Dickon Whitehead

Rank: Guest

Joined: 6/7/2019(UTC)
Posts: 4

In the past I experienced difficulties with drawings that were set to metric being opened while preferences were set to English, I am simply providing my work around to prevent those issues happening again.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.