Punch! CAD
»
ViaCAD & Shark
»
2D Drafting
»
Adding Extra model parts and transfer to a drawing
Rank: Senior Member
Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 952
Thanks: 46 times Was thanked: 319 time(s) in 212 post(s)
Morning all, I'm trying to get my head around something. In the model I'm using layers to separate parts. So for example, Layer1 - Base Plate, Layer 2 - Cap Screw, Layer 3 - Screw on block and so on. Say I produce a drawing by selecting those 3 parts listed above. I get the views, dim it all up everything is done. Then I add in on layer 4 an extra part. How do I get the drawing to update the existing views with this part? I've tried the layer view, which is pretty good, but you can't add aux views from it, should you need to? Cheers
Rank: Administration
Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,862
Thanks: 1 times Was thanked: 87 time(s) in 81 post(s)
Hello ug To add a new part to an existing model to sheet or draw view you select the part copy and then activate a view and paste into it. Regards Jason
Windows 11, 10
Rank: Senior Member
Joined: 2/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,252
Location: Paris & Frankfurt
Thanks: 217 times Was thanked: 164 time(s) in 101 post(s)
Originally Posted by: jdi000 Hello ug To add a new part to an existing model to sheet or draw view you select the part copy and then activate a view and paste into it. Regards Jason
Yes Jason, I do this too.
My additionnel advice, if the copied part is a bit complex : set the view to polylines before pasting.
Otherwise you may get an endless spinning ball.
It's sometimes possible to set back to precise curves afterward...
Rank: Senior Member
Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 952
Thanks: 46 times Was thanked: 319 time(s) in 212 post(s)
Top job I'll try it out tonight Thanks
Rank: Senior Member
Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 952
Thanks: 46 times Was thanked: 319 time(s) in 212 post(s)
Is there a way to paste geometry in as well? I'm doing a view now (following my other post) and I can't copy and paste a point from the model to the drawing. If I create a view including the point firstly, it works and shows the point. But this is being added after all views are created. I've added a tooling ball, and now need to add its point, and I can't do it. Cheers
Rank: Administration
Joined: 7/29/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,862
Thanks: 1 times Was thanked: 87 time(s) in 81 post(s)
Originally Posted by: UGMENTALCASE Is there a way to paste geometry in as well? I'm doing a view now (following my other post) and I can't copy and paste a point from the model to the drawing. If I create a view including the point firstly, it works and shows the point. But this is being added after all views are created. I've added a tooling ball, and now need to add its point, and I can't do it. Cheers
Points do not paste but other 2d geometry will. Create a point with 2 small lines and paste them in the view.
Thanks
Jason
Windows 11, 10
Punch! CAD
»
ViaCAD & Shark
»
2D Drafting
»
Adding Extra model parts and transfer to a drawing
Forum Jump
Punch! CAD
ViaCAD & Shark
- News and Announcements
- General
- 2D Drafting
- Surface Modeling
- Solid Modeling
- Subdivision Modeling
- Rendering & Display
- Import/Export
- Tips and Tutorials
- Suggestions
- Gallery
- PowerPack
- Punch Lounge
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.