logo
NOTICE:  This is the new PunchCAD forum. You should have received an email with your new password around August 27, 2014. If you did not, or would like it reset, simply use the Lost Password feature, and enter Answer as the security answer.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Albatrossflyer  
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2022 10:45:14 AM(UTC)
Albatrossflyer

Rank: Member

Joined: 7/21/2008(UTC)
Posts: 46

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Is there a way to export the data points defining a spline to a separate datafile?

Albatrossflyer attached the following image(s):
Spline.jpg (176kb) downloaded 2 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 1 user thanked Albatrossflyer for this useful post.
specktech on 12/6/2022(UTC)
Tim Olson  
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2022 12:30:06 PM(UTC)
Tim Olson

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 2/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,151
United States

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 240 post(s)
AeroPack has an export spline in V12.

In V14, I just added exporting splines via File : Export : Macro for all products.

This is in build 1601.


Tim

Edited by user Sunday, October 16, 2022 3:18:35 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
airfoil.png (1,224kb) downloaded 16 time(s).
airfoil.txt (3kb) downloaded 12 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Tim Olson
IMSI Design/Encore
thanks 3 users thanked Tim Olson for this useful post.
L. Banasky on 10/17/2022(UTC), specktech on 12/6/2022(UTC), GARLIC on 12/6/2022(UTC)
2murray  
#3 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2022 9:13:32 PM(UTC)
2murray

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/15/2022(UTC)
Posts: 16

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 11 post(s)
In the here and now, if you're on Windows without AeroPack, try Marcus Bole's PolyCAD, polycad.co.uk, imports .dxf or .iges. Free but registration needed. Select the spline, pline, surface, mesh, copy/paste the coordinate grid into anything suitable.
2murray attached the following image(s):
PolyCAD UI.png (208kb) downloaded 2 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
thanks 2 users thanked 2murray for this useful post.
GARLIC on 10/18/2022(UTC), specktech on 12/6/2022(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2022 11:58:36 AM(UTC)
UGMENTALCASE

Rank: Senior Member

Joined: 3/21/2017(UTC)
Posts: 904
Man
United Kingdom

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 267 time(s) in 180 post(s)
If you add points along the spline then export those as an igs you can read igs files in notepad and I'm pretty sure you'll get the coordinates of them.

I used to do this years ago. If I remember rightly you can stick the file in excel, the first column is junk, then you scroll down (the number of points there are in the file) then you'll hit the X y coordinates
ViaCAD Pro 10, 11+ Power Pack Pro
Shark CAD Pro V12 + Power Pack Pro
Windows 10 Pro- MSI GL72 6QC-32GB RAM
thanks 2 users thanked UGMENTALCASE for this useful post.
GARLIC on 10/19/2022(UTC), specktech on 12/6/2022(UTC)
Albatrossflyer  
#5 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2022 12:06:18 PM(UTC)
Albatrossflyer

Rank: Member

Joined: 7/21/2008(UTC)
Posts: 46

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Thanks everyone for the feedback. I'm using SFX on a Mac not WIN. I tried the export to IGES trick, but it appears I'm just getting an unstructured file that when dumped into EXCEL isn't useful.
thanks 1 user thanked Albatrossflyer for this useful post.
specktech on 12/6/2022(UTC)
2murray  
#6 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2022 6:35:13 PM(UTC)
2murray

Rank: Member

Joined: 2/15/2022(UTC)
Posts: 16

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Select the curve and export only the selected as .igs as Chris suggested. Use a text editor, more obious, less chaotic than a spreadsheet app might look. Wikipedia and other sites tell you what the obect type number is, b-spline curves are #126, in the text file there'll be a line that begins with 126,.....The lines below that line are the coordinates of the curve, the number to the right of the coordinates tells you how many coords there are in the curve and where each control point is in the order.
thanks 1 user thanked 2murray for this useful post.
specktech on 12/6/2022(UTC)
specktech  
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 6, 2022 11:04:28 AM(UTC)
specktech

Rank: Guest

Joined: 4/20/2021(UTC)
Posts: 49

Thanks: 333 times
Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 13 post(s)
I just tried that. I was quite surprised it worked. I drew up a few test splines. Saved it as IGES. Opened Notepad ++ . Imported the IGES file. Wow. I can see all the data. Looking at all the data is a bit confusing. But I looked close at line 126. I will study this more. Seems very interesting to me. I have looked close at airfoil data sheets so I have some understanding of the airfoil data plots. Super cool testing. I just opened one of Tim's files on this post and saw Sharkcad V14 for Mac. Wow its gonna happen. So excited to see version 14. Hope its not to expensive to upgrade.

Edited by user Tuesday, December 6, 2022 11:09:35 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user thanked specktech for this useful post.
GARLIC on 12/6/2022(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.